[4]

Fusion 360 Rule#1

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

jwmelvin

Active Member
Registered
Joined
Jan 11, 2018
Messages
117
Likes
84
#31
I drew several bodies and then converted them to components (not following rule #1.) Now that they are converted and are part of an assembly, I have lost any ability to see the timeline or the underlying sketches. Is this normal? Would this be different if I created the component first and then added the sketches?
Yup, now you see why they call it "rule #1." As MikeWi pointed out, the sketches are still there but the design becomes very confusing when you do it the way you did rather than create components before creating geometry.
 

rwm

Active User
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Mar 25, 2013
Messages
1,433
Likes
1,635
#32
I see the sketches now. They are only visible under "sketches" and not under each component. Thanks again for the clarification.
Not sure if I will build it, but I was trying to envision a double fat tire bicycle!



Sure would look cool.

Robert
 

Technical Ted

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
Joined
Nov 5, 2016
Messages
641
Likes
614
#33
Try left clicking on the sketch and drag it into the component. Sometimes it will let you do this.

Good luck,
Ted
 

Eremius

Registered
Registered
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Messages
68
Likes
47
#34
NOW, on a Positive note, I have had some success, using FreeCAD & LibreCAD, and now, My Question:

Has anybody used "simplify3d"???? https://www.simplify3d.com . . . . . it is a "Purchase Item". But $149.00 USD is Not a steep Price, and another forum I am on Suggested it for 3d Printing.
Yes, I own Simplify3D. I think it is an excellent slicer.
 

Brian Hutchings

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
53
Likes
47
#35
I've had Fusion 360 for a few months and have tried to follow the videos etc but I tried to use it for a simple proper job for the first recently, a nameplate for a model traction engine and couldn't even work out how to draw a rectangle with specified dimensions! Went back to using DesignCad which at least gives me a drawing I can use.
I shall keep trying to understand it because I feel It could be useful, but maybe on the nexr model.
Brian
 

MikeWi

Active User
Registered
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
469
Likes
146
#36
I've had Fusion 360 for a few months and have tried to follow the videos etc but I tried to use it for a simple proper job for the first recently, a nameplate for a model traction engine and couldn't even work out how to draw a rectangle with specified dimensions! Went back to using DesignCad which at least gives me a drawing I can use.
I shall keep trying to understand it because I feel It could be useful, but maybe on the nexr model.
Brian
Always help for you here Brian. Feel free to PM me if you want help. Not an expert either, but I'm getting pretty good.
 

Brian Hutchings

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member ($10)
Joined
Sep 2, 2017
Messages
53
Likes
47
#37
Always help for you here Brian. Feel free to PM me if you want help. Not an expert either, but I'm getting pretty good.
Thanks very much for the very kind offer Mike; I,m off to Holland for a couple of weeks holliday but may well be in touch when I get back.
All the best,
Brian
 
[6]
[5] [7]
Top