Grinding internal grooving tool

Spokerider

Registered
Registered
Guys,
I am soon to attempt internal threading for the first time.
I have a HSS 60 degree internal threading tool, but I'm not sure what type of tool is required for cutting the major diameter relief, where the threads will end, inside the tube?

What profile do you grind on a HSS blank, for this purpose?

Since I'm using a ML7, threading in reverse is not an option..... until I devise a method of securing the chuck on the spindle threads, from loosening.

So yeah, I do need that major diameter relief groove, while I am learning internal threading on my lathe.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Guys,
I am soon to attempt internal threading for the first time.
I have a HSS 60 degree internal threading tool, but I'm not sure what type of tool is required for cutting the major diameter relief, where the threads will end, inside the tube?

What profile do you grind on a HSS blank, for this purpose?

Since I'm using a ML7, threading in reverse is not an option..... until I devise a method of securing the chuck on the spindle threads, from loosening.

So yeah, I do need that major diameter relief groove, while I am learning internal threading on my lathe.

Thanks for your thoughts.
so I recently added a screw to my new to me Bison chuck on an SB9 (1.5 8tpi ). I used a 10-32 and drilled into the spindle so it locks it on. It won't handle heavy cuts, but it is capable of reverse threading if you do light cuts.
Previously my old chuck had a brass set screw, and it worked pretty good, but it did let go on one important reverse thread. So the screw will hopefully never wind up cut by too aggressive a cut.