Gunsmiths Please help

Badge171

Active User
Registered
Hello all, a little back round before my problem. I'm Just a hobby machinist I can hold my own, but by no means a professional. that being said I purchased a Remington 700 XCR in 25-06 heavy barrel. Upon close inspection I can see damage to the crown and damage on the top of the rifiling about 3/16 down.
I have a 11" clausing, colochester
I guess my first question am i way off to think I can take that 3/16 off the end of the barrel.on the lathe and machine a target recessed crown,
I am not able to remove the barrel from the action.
Can I hold the whole action and barrel in the lathe ? I do have a steady rest.
That brings me to my next question How to I hold the barrel end without marring the finish, and how do you hold it being the barrel is tapered.
And last can you lead me through the process.
I know I should just farm it out,
problem I dont feel any of the box shops in my area are capable of quality work
MANY THANKS TO ALL
Frank

Maybe before you go to all that trouble, you should get one of them rubberized grinding wheels, they come in all shapes and sizes that would probably fit the boar with some diamond dust compound you could probably polish it right out. You got nothing to lose at this point. Then take it out and shoot it was see how well it holds a group.

If Genec's idea does not work, then you should build an action wrench and a barrel bushing. Action wrench is used to separate the action from the barrel and the barrel bushing will be used to protect the barrel from damage caused by holding the barrel in the lathe. Both items are fairly easy to make especially for the Rem 700 which is a round action. The barrel bushing can be a simple as a two piece hard wood sleeve to an Al one. This is one of the proper ways to work on a barrel.
For further info look to NRA Gunsmithing Guide, Brownells various publications and many others. Take your time and a good solution will come to the fore.
Pierre