Hello From Ohio

homefactory

Registered
Registered
Hi, guys!

I am BRAND new to machining,however it is a life long ambition.

My goal is to make cool little puzzles and primarily gun work. I want to be able to turn barrel blanks, mill slides and eventually receivers.

My questions right now are about equipment.
Are combo lathe/mill any good?

What is the best lathe in they sub-$2000 range for gun work? Is there such a thing?

What is the best mill in the same range for the same purpose?

I am completely new so please excuse my ignorance.

*DISCLAIMER* I am well versed in the legalities of firearm manufacturing, so no worries about that.

I looked at craigslist near you and there are some lathes to choose from

This Monarch 10ee is there for a very low cost but needs some attention. Would be worth a look. Maybe not a lathe for a beginner but if you knew what it could be it would an outstanding project. And could be a lifetime tool for you.

http://akroncanton.craigslist.org/tls/5697542890.html

Ah... she'd certainly under priced at least for the Minnesota market.
homefactory, as you are new to the "hobby" consider asking lots of questions here at HM.
Additionally, there might be a HM member willing to look at one with you. They might not be excited about looking at 1o. But, a couple you might get a volunteer.

Daryl
MN

Thanks for the reply's!!!

I have definitely considered buying used, but I am very worried that I couldn't fix any issues that would be there and would absolutely HAVE to find someone qualified to look at it with me

homefactory,

Welcome to the group.

Here's a couple links with some interesting reading:
http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/a-guide-for-selecting-the-right-lathe-for-beginners.25915/
http://www.hobby-machinist.com/threads/how-to-select-a-milling-machine-a-guide.30066/

The more you know, the better off you'll be when looking at equipment.

-brino