Help, please. Motor failure - Craftsman 2X42 Belt/Disc Grinder. Appreciate any/all ideas.

Than
I know that we all like to reinvent the wheel. But getting an electrical motor rewound is no big deal. There are lots of places that can do this in the LA area. I did a quick search for SLO and a shop in Santa Maria Perry's Electric Motors popped up. You might try giving them a call. (805) 925-8761 I have no connection or experience with this company. There are probably others in your area. The central valley will also have places that can rewind your motor.

Have the motor rewound and use your sander for another 30 years.
Mickri:
Thanks. Appreciate your input.

Maybe I was a bit premature in deciding which way to go. But after having looked pretty closely at the stator windings, I concluded rewinding could be quite an expensive alternative. My thinking was that if retail labor these days runs $125/hr, I would be looking at $300 - $400.

But I just called Perry's anyway, and they were quite helpful. They were up-front about it, and said it would make no sense cost-wise to rewind it. A one-off rewind of a small single phase motor would be extremely time-consuming. They weren't even comfortable giving me an estimate for doing it. We then talked about a potential replacement, but a search through their catalogues ended with no luck finding a dual shaft 1 HP replacement.

So we're back to reinventing the wheel:(
Bill

I’m in awe of your CAD-fu. Just a suggestion. When I did the double reduction on my vert bandsaw I used a motor mount from a dead table saw where it hinges and the motor weight does all the tensioning. Works wonderful, no slipping and total piece of cake change the belt. And never have to adjust the belt!
Tony:
Thanks. The design you describe is one alternative I am looking at. It's the same set-up that is built into the countershaft assembly on my Atlas lathe. The other design I am considering is a sliding mount, which would require some adjustment.