[4]

help with turning (or otherwise shaping) a small dome

[3]
[10] Like what you see?
Click here to donate to this forum and upgrade your account!

bbaley

Registered
Hi,
I am just getting started researching how one might turn or form a small "dome".
By dome I mean not a full radius half-dome (ball end, etc)

but a convex shape for which the radius would be MUCH larger than the piece being machined.
The convex dome need not be a specific dimension with an exact tolerance.
I am imagining a piece of 1" round stock on which the end is shaped a dome where the center/highest point is maybe 2.5mm / 0.1"

My first thought was to make some sort of jig to hold a cordless drill that I could use on the belt sander - where the jig bottom plate had a bolt and a slot (cut with router and large circle jig) such that I could "turn" the part on this large sweep/radius... but I am figuring there is some lathe option possibly ?

I have seen lathe ball turning attachments and the like - but those seem a) to be for small radii , and also complicated to make (for me).

what would you do ?

dome_1.png

RJSakowski

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter - Gold Member ($25)
If the curve doesn't have to be geometrically accurate, it can be done free hand. You can rough out the curve by calculating points along it and cuttin with a combination of the compound movement and cross slide movement. Set the compound so movement is parallel to the spindle axis and cut a series of steps. Depending on your patience and the number of steps, you can get fairly close. Once the rough profile is cut, use a file to break the steps. As you get close to your desired shape, switch to emery cloth or sandpaper. I use WD40 as a lubricant with the sandpaper. Switch to finner grades of sandpaper until you reach your desired finish. It is possible to reach a mirror finish that way.

Alexander McGilton

Registered