How Expensive Is A Sloppy Table On A Mill???

B.R. McCall

Registered
Registered
Yesterday,I looked at a milling machine. It is a Newport (which after several hours of reading and looking at pictures, seems to be an almost exact copy of a Bridgeport series 1 J head).

The man selling it wants $1500 and said he would hold it for me till Monday. There is not any tooling except for 6 r8 collets. No vice or clamps. The power feed motor is missing. On the plus side is has a pathfinder-5 DRO that mostly works (there are a couple of numbers that are missing "legs?" ie.. a 6 looks like a lowercase h and a 8 looks like and uppercase H)

I am a total noobie to machining, and doubly so to repairing and replacing parts. Please bare with me, as I am not always sure what things are called, but I try to use descriptive language if I can.
I would love to have somebody who knows what they are looking at go with me and give me an opinion. Unfortunately, there are no clubs or community collages any where close (hour south of Orlando) to me and I don't know any machinists.

So here is my observations of the machine, and I would like an idea of the difficulty and price of fixing the problems:

The feed knob on the x axis (the long way or side to side) will turn about 180 degrees before moving the table. The y axis knob (short way or front to back) will turn about 90 degrees before moving the table.

The other thing I found that if you stand at the long end of the table and push/pull in the x(?) axis, the table will move back and forth about an inch.
If you stand in front of the mill and push toward the back at one end or the other of the table, you can move it back an forth about an inch.

Pretty sloppy, but can it be fixed? More importantly, can it be fixed at a reasonable (cheap) price by a total noob?

Thanks in advance!

Bryant

i would forget about it
sounds like a total wreck
if you havent got experience in rebuilding you wouldnt want it for free