How to--Gun Blueing

smallfly

Active User
Registered
help---i have never owned any firearms--but i have some hardware -levers arms and bolts and nuts- which i would like to recoat with something to make them ''black''-once more. i thought that maybe a gun blueing kit would do this for me . i have never done this before --do not know what the process is or a ''reputable'' manufacturer to buy from. this hardware is for my bridgeport mill which iam rebuilding from inside out. do you think gun blueing is a good idea?? i really need your input and all input will be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.:) re steve in montana

gun blueing

i always use the kit that walmart has it has the cleaner in it, all your parts has to be cleaned and buffed before you use and i always put mine in the even to warm up to about 90degree that way the pores open up a tad to take the blueing better, it may take 3 or 4 coats to get to your liking, now this wont stop rust its just for the color:biggrin: Mac

I've used Birchwood Casey Cold Bluing paste with success on numerous projects...

John

Birchwood Casey makes several cold blue products that work well or if the parts can be heated up with a torch, just heat them up, dip them in oil and burn it off. That leaves a nice durable black finish.

BTW, these suggestions will only work if the parts are carbon steel, which I assume they are. If they are aluminum, your options are limited to a coating (paint) or anodizing.

Tom

Last edited by a moderator:
I was thinking Black anodizing for durability and rust resistance. I have anodized scuba tanks that are pretty old and not a blemish so far. I think the wal-mart kit os a Hopps brand. I have touched up a spot or two with it and it does Ok too. You could go all out and have it sodium nitrided, but that is way pricy.
Bob

You could Parkerize them. It's not black, but durable gray