I need a sanity check on osing a DRO on a rotary table for gears.

fratzog

Fratzog
Registered
I need a sanity check on using a DRO on a rotary table for gears.

Hey guys. I don't have any experience on cutting gears, so I need some advice as to the feasibility of my plan.

I have a Grizzly H7527 rotary table with indexing plates. It's a 90 to 1 head. I want to cut a 127 tooth change gear for my lathe. I have the proper involute cutter and I'm ready to set this up.

I know that 127 is a prime number, therefore indexing plates will not give the right "resolution" and besides that, my plates only go to 100.

I'm not ready to go CNC yet, mainly due to financial constraints, so I found a possible DRO solution. I found a company that makes a rotary angle encoder and display kit for less than sixty bucks. It has a resolution of .1 degrees.

I'm not very good at math, but here's what I came up with: On the 90-1 table, 360 degrees of travel on the crank gives you 4 degrees on the table. Using that logic I divide 360 by 127 to get the number of degrees per tooth on the table. I get 2.834 rounded (I'm only rounding here, not on my calc). Taking that number times 90, I get about 255.118, so I need that number of degrees on the crank to advance one tooth. Using the DRO, I can go to 255.1 on the crank. Dividing that by 90 and multiplying that by 127 I get an accuracy of 359.97444444... degrees over the entire gear.

First question is, am I figuring this correctly? and if so, is that close enough resolution to cut this gear without too much error?

I'm hoping this works, as I don't see any other way to do this without putting me in the poor house.

I would gladly accept any opinions and advice on this. Thanks.