I purchased an antique lathe. Now what?

Apsterbobed

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
5
I have purchased my first lathe, Its old and I could use some help identifying it, I think its a Monarch model A. Its also missing a knob that I need to replace. Everything seems to work. I would like to get a quick change tool post, so any recommendations on the size post I should be looking for would be appreciated.
20201129_180400.jpg 20201129_180409.jpg 20201129_180415.jpg 20201129_180421.jpg 20201129_180429.jpg 20201129_180435.jpg 20201129_180511.jpg 20201129_180545.jpg 20201129_180549.jpg
 

Attachments

  • 20201129_180609.jpg
    20201129_180609.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 22

brino

Confirmed Tool User
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
6,731
That is a very sturdy looking lathe.
Does that say Jan 23, 1906 on the plate?

Here's some company info and history:
http://www.lathes.co.uk/monarch/index.html

Very interesting since that web page says:
Monarch lathes were first made in 1909

...and it also says:
Because they were so well made these lathes have an extraordinary long life

Some Monarch documents are here:
http://vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex/detail.aspx?id=2103&tab=3

However the oldest documents appear to be 1920 & 1921.

Welcome to the group!

-brino
 

brino

Confirmed Tool User
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
6,731
Is that top pulley really as out of round as it appears:

1609687157113.png


1609687213761.png

Initially I thought the photos just got squished, but i) it's like that from multiply angles, and ii) other parts don't seem so oval......

-brino
 

Braeden P

Registered
Registered
Joined
Sep 1, 2020
Messages
1,124
Ooh an original motor mount back then that cost almost as much as the lathe looks really nice!
 

Apsterbobed

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
5
Is that top pulley really as out of round as it appears:

View attachment 349767


View attachment 349768

Initially I thought the photos just got squished, but i) it's like that from multiply angles, and ii) other parts don't seem so oval......

-brino

Wow that does look very bad! I don't think that its that bad but now I need to go look in person! I think that its just the angel of the picture because it spins just fine.
 

Apsterbobed

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
5
That is a very sturdy looking lathe.
Does that say Jan 23, 1906 on the plate?

Here's some company info and history:
http://www.lathes.co.uk/monarch/index.html

Very interesting since that web page says:


...and it also says:


Some Monarch documents are here:
http://vintagemachinery.org/mfgindex/detail.aspx?id=2103&tab=3

However the oldest documents appear to be 1920 & 1921.

Welcome to the group!

-brino
I'm not sure but I think it is (*106*) on one side and (1A Lot No 404 Machine No 8) on the other side. 20201129_180609.jpg
 

Andrew R Stewart

H-M Supporter - Diamond Member
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2019
Messages
55
Do I see a weld repair on the motor/flat belt drive vertical bracket? There's a something just above the cross ribbing, about even with the top of the headstock. Andy
 

FOMOGO

Active User
H-M Lifetime Diamond Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2013
Messages
2,970
Cool old lathe. Looks like you need a bolt on the motor support. Lot of weight hanging on that puppy. Mike
 

benmychree

John York
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
6,893
The missing knob on the apron is likely the same part as the one next to it, you should be able to make one.
 

john.oliver35

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2014
Messages
191
Cool old lathe. Looks like you need a bolt on the motor support. Lot of weight hanging on that puppy. Mike
Does that motor support lean to the rear of the lathe when fully bolted on? It seems that with the lean forward the operator's hair and arm are in danger of getting pulled into the flat belt!
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock