Is my torch kit working correctly?

Batmanacw

Registered
Registered
I'm a complete newbie on oxy- acetylene. I bought a cheap cutting welding torch kit 20+ years ago and finally rented tanks a year or so ago.

For the steel I was cutting the recommended setting was 3-6 and 35 to 40 psi and a no 2 tip.

In the videos about cutting I watched they would open the acetylene half a turn and fully open the oxygen tank. Then they would open the lower oxygen adjuster all the way, leaving the upper oxygen closed. Then they would crack the acetylene and light the torch. Then increase the acetylene until the soot smoke started to decrease but not so far the flame would jump off the tip.

When i light my torch and increase the acetylene the soot never decreases. I had to turn up the acetylene to 11 to 12 psi to get the soot to reduce. No way the flame could lift off the tip.

I could not produce enough heat to start a cut at 3-6 psi. I could start a cut once I cranked the acetylene to 10 to 12 psi. 40 psi on the oxygen seemed fine.

I had a fair number of pops the instant the cut started and had to re-light the torch several times.

I'm thinking my old acetylene regulator might just not be working correctly. Maybe my torch isn't flowing enough. Maybe my flash back arrestor isn't working right.

Torch cut.
20230508_200708.jpg

Plasma

20230508_203313.jpg

I know I'm doing something wrong with the torch.

The idea for cutting is to use acetylene and oxy flame only for preheating the edge of the material, then pulling the trigger should boost the oxy so that
mostly oxy does the cutting. When you let go of the trigger it should return to the preheat flame.
So if that's not happening it's either defective or isn't adjusted correctly
It's been a while since I used one

The cuts looks too hot to me.
You may need to get some tip cleaners and clean the holes in your tip, each time it pops it can be metal getting inside the tip holes which can cause a flashback.