Jay Leno article on machinists

Great article. I often banter with friends who are attorneys & financial guys about that. I tell them: "After the apocalypse, there will be no need for you guys. My skills will be in demand as I build Mad Max cars & weapons." :jester:

Leno has been a staunch supporter of machinists for as long as I can remember. At one time he had a deal worked out with several colleges to help young machinists get started and save some of the costs of their tuition. Don't know if he still does that, but he has been supportive of our skill and trade for a long time.

Bob

Thanks for sharing the article. I am not a big fan of Jay Leno, but I have to say I agree with everything he wrote in his article. As a construction professional I have had to deal with the stigma that I am just a construction guy who gets dirty for a living and is not smart. Well they are right on one assumption, I get dirty for a living. I have two college degrees in unrelated fields and earned them without taking a loan by working full time. I have been standing dusty and dirty in a bank holding $300K in deposits and had people wrinkle their nose and make a face at me when they had a couple hundred buck total in their account. I just chuckled to myself as I got into my paid for truck that was worth as much as their house...

He is so right! A few friends are in the nuclear power industry and they say that today North America can not build a new reactor as all the special skills and machines are in Asia. I needed a few 1/2" SS pipe fittings to fix a degreaser and they have to be imported from China!
Crazy
Pierre

I read somewhere that he has a machine shop in his garage. To repair parts on his own cars. thomas s