Lathe options - 12x36 up

FlyFishn

Registered
Registered
Hi All, first post here. I stumbled in to this forum searching lathes and found several threads that either were here or pointed here from other forums (practical machinist for example). So I think I at least found the right place.

I am studying metal lathes as I would like to add one to my collection at some point. That will open up a lot of doors with projects. I got a floor mount drill press last year and that has equally opened a lot of doors - even milling with a cross slide vice (not ideal, and not "precise", but better than nothing in a pinch).

At the moment I don't have any size parts/work to base the sizing of a lathe off of, however most of the parts I can think of are nearly all close to the chuck - within 3" or so in length. I do have some shaft ideas - perhaps out to about 18" (bearing journals). Max shaft diameter might be 2" or under. Of course, threading is going to be a big help. As to what pitches - I don't see anything other than standard pitch threads in my future, but that gets in to the root of my question. Power feed in both major axis (x and y) would be a requirement, as far as I'm concerned. I am not sure how important the ability of tapered power feeding would be, but that, again, gets back to the root of my question.

I like the styes that have gear selections with levers as opposed to change gears (with the exception being switching between standard and metric pitch threading - that I can understand).