Little machine shop universal kit

Archer60x

Registered
Registered
Hello, i am just getting into milling and got a PM 728VT.

I like the idea of using the tablet and TouchDRO so i am going to go that route.

I was looking at this little machine shop kit that is magnetic scales.

It only had 3 inputs on the transceiver.

Once i get more experienced with milling can i replace the transceiver that comes with the kit with the TouchDRO Adapter that has 4?

A touch probe is probably what i want for the 4th input.

Thanks!
Chad

Hello, i am just getting into milling and got a PM 728VT.

I like the idea of using the tablet and TouchDRO so i am going to go that route.

I was looking at this little machine shop kit that is magnetic scales.

It only had 3 inputs on the transceiver.

Once i get more experienced with milling can i replace the transceiver that comes with the kit with the TouchDRO Adapter that has 4?

A touch probe is probably what i want for the 4th input.

Thanks!
Chad
Hi Chad,
TouchDRO will work with those scales, so you can upgrade the adapter later.
That said, those scales have really bad cyclic error, on the order of +/-0.005" if you get lucky. Then, the adapter is a knockoff of the very first generation TouchDRO kit (circa 2014).
The 3-axis kit from LMS is $540-ish.

You paid good money for an "Ultra Precision" mill, and it has more than enough space for full-size glass scales. For that much money you can get a set of Ditron or Aikron glass scales with a real TouchDRO adapter. That setup will be better in pretty much every regard.

There is a lot of hype around magnetic scales, but they are a niche product that was designed for specific application (high vibration and/or high pressure flood coolant).