Making a Lead Sinker Mold???

TomS

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I have zero experience with casting metal but that hasn't deterred me from attempting to make a lead sinker mold. And I must say it's not going well. The finished sinker/weight shape is 1/8" half round about 9/16" to 5/8" long. The grooves in the mold are about 6-1/2" long, width is 1/8" and depth is 1/16". The mold is preheated to 300 deg. F then the molten lead is poured. The attached pictures show what's happening, or not, during the pour process. I'm thinking I need to add a vent to the closed end of each groove but what do I know.

This started out as a request from a friend for what I thought was a few dozen weights. He's now telling me a relative of the inventor of the "No Name Lure" wants to relaunch the lure business and make thousands of these and sell them commercially. Maybe a mold is not the way to go. Possibly injection molding or extruding would be better. I'm interested/anxious to hear what you all have to say.

Thanks

IMG_0561.JPGIMG_0562.JPGIMG_0563.JPG

Definitely not an expert, but have poured lots of jigs , sinkers and round balls for muzzleloader. Looks like mold is still too cold. Just my two cents.
Dave

I'm no expert either, but that mold looks like it need vents. The air inside has no place to go, particularly with the long
skinny shape of your part. If your finished parts are cut from the parts you're trying to pour, you might also consider making them shorter to start with.

Try dusting it with talcum powder and preheating the mold.

Most mass produced lead castings are made in limited life heat vulcanized silicone spin cast molds.

Vents may help, but try the first tip above first.