My homemade bar puller for my CNC lathe.

rgray

Active User
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I made this "bar puller" from a scrap piece of 1" exhaust tubing.
I still push the "go" button for every part. I haven't gotten brave enough to program it to continuously work.
Mostly because it's not super reliable. It's not spring steel so after some parts I had to adjust the diameter when it failed to pull the bar the entire distance.
I'm no programer so it took me some doing to get this to run.

Initially I programed a G1 for the puller to go to the bar as I thought that way I could control speed. That doesn't work as the spindle is stopped so tool is also stopped.

Then I fought the lathe just stopping at some point and I guess it was it didn't have a rotational speed command. This lathe has speed commands under turret 2 program so confusing sometimes. I put speed commands everywhere trying to get it to work and that rev right before the first bar pull seemed to be what made it cooperate. Odd as later it pulls the bar without that same "rev" beforehand.

I had to add a chamfer to the cut off at the end as the bar puller would move in and run into the bar and push it into the collet. (only did that once that was enough).

The view isn't great. my waterproof Gopro housing deteriorated in a matter of months inside the lathe cabinet. Guess it couldn't handle the coolant. So video was shot through the door window.

Is that one just spring loaded ''jaws'', or does it work off of turret coolant pressure? You can't feed in a tool with the spindle at zero speed?

I bought an Easy-Puller for mine, seems to work well.

Is that one just spring loaded ''jaws'', or does it work off of turret coolant pressure? You can't feed in a tool with the spindle at zero speed?

It's exhaust tubing from an old race snowmobile I had in the 90's.
Karl T said months ago (in your cnc thread) just build it from scrap. So that's what I did.