My make &break wont run

PeeJay

Registered
Registered
Hello,
I am a retired auto technician and have worked for 40 years in the auto industry, most recently as a Master Toyota Technician. I know engines and what makes them tick. That being said…..
I recently built a freelance 1 cyl. make and break engine. It is a 1” bore and 1” stroke. I purchased the TIM-6 ignition system. I decided to use this because it eliminated points and condenser and for size reasons, that made sense. I assembled the electronics and tested everything as per the instructions, and all is good. The system was installed onto the engine with the magnet on the cam gear and carefully aligned with the hall sensor which is mounted to a pivoting arm so as to be able to adjust the timing.
To make a long story short…. I can’t make this engine even pop. I’ve tried 3 different fuels, 2 different spark plugs, made 2 different versions of carburetors, and now has a carb off a model airplane engine. I tried priming through the spark plug hole and even tried starting fluid “ether” to no avail.
With the spark plug removed and grounded it shows a good spark. I mounted the LED timing indicator so as to be visible and the timing is perfect. Compression is good and its getting fuel. If I got even a hint of a “trying to fire” or a pop on ignition I would try to isolate a problem. BUT… I can’t get it to show any signs of ignition.
Is there a possibility of a bad coil? I tested the primary side to about 1.2 ohms and the secondary side is around 6.4K ohms.
Could it not be firing under compression? There’s no way to test that. The TIM-6 seems ok. It will jump a spark more than 1/4”. I’m stumped.
I thought I’d write the forum to see if you could shed some light…. I need some help.

See the photo of my engine.

Thanks,
Pat JansonIMG_0033.JPG
pjanson@maine.rr.com

Basic ic troubleshooting

Compression
Spark
Fuel

Need all 3, you know that

Weak point is more voltage required to spark under compression.