New Guy With An Old Atlas Lathe

S

Spike

Forum Guest
Register Today
Howdy,
I am sorry if this is inappropriate in this section but I could not find an "introduce yourself" thread on the forum. Anyway, I found this place while researching info for an old Atlas QC54 metal lathe I just acquired.

I have no knowledge of this particular machine but I do have a novice level knowledge of metal lathes. I will be reading up to learn how the lathe I have is operated and what all it is capable of, so thank you in advance for all the info I am about to read through!
Yours,
-Spike

Welcome to the forum Spike.

Can I suggest that you check out this forum and there is a section specifically for Atlas equipment, and there are members there that are experts on Atlas lathes.

David

Thanks for all the replies everyone! I have loads of reading to do here and in other places. And a lot of cleaning and lubing and and and....... Till I get some of the accessories for this machine I can do little with it so i imagine I'll need to browse some sites that sell what I need. Technically the lathe is a loaner as the guy who owns it sold the barn he kept it in and had nowhere to keep it, he offered me the use of it if I would store it for him. I don't plan to pour money into someone else's lathe, but a bit here and there for letting me use it is fine. Once I figure out what all I need. I don't really have any stock to chuck up yet anyway.

Aside form the lathe I think I will enjoy the forum here just because I enjoy the same sort of tinkering I see many of you like. Just wait till I get around to the 'show off your shop' thread, the first few pages were fascinating! I have a small shop packed with plenty of general purpose tools for metal working and auto repair, but no real precision tools. Oh and I like to take plenty of photos and look at photos others post, I get good ideas that way all the time.

Thanks again!
-Spike