New Lathe

srfallsallot

Registered
Registered
Hi all. I am not a machinist. I have made some one off parts at work. I have a lot of experience in CAD modeling and everything I have made at home both wood and metal are first 3d CAD modeled. I just got rid of a 40 yr old drill press. Replaced it with a PM932M PDF 3axDRO. What joy to use for simple projects. Big enough to do wood working too. I am looking at a PM1440BV 2ax DRO lathe. The variable speed is a big draw. I have the space and the power. I have wanted a metal shop forever and time is getting short. This is not a business. I have no idea what I will make with this so I am thinking it should be the biggest machine that will fit my space.

Am I going to big? Should I be looking at something smaller? Advice would be very appreciated.

If you're going for something in that size I would really recommend finding one with cross-slide powerfeed, not sure if the PM1440 has it.
I've always been of the opinion to get the biggest and most powerful you can afford and have space for.

If you're going for something in that size I would really recommend finding one with cross-slide powerfeed, not sure if the PM1440 has it.
I've always been of the opinion to get the biggest and most powerful you can afford and have space for.
It does have the power cross feed. I am also looking at the PM1340GT

Am I going to big? Should I be looking at something smaller?

If you have the space, 14x40 is just right for hobby/amateur. Plenty of power and rigidity, plus the bed length to work on gun barrels, tractor parts, etc should the need arise.

I have no idea what I will make with this so I am thinking it should be the biggest machine that will fit my space.

Am I going to big? Should I be looking at something smaller? Advice would be very appreciated.