New TouchDRO install on column mill - critiques and suggestions sought

Tomzo

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
Greetings,

I recently completed what I am sure will be V1 of my TouchDRO install on my HF 33686 column mill/drill. I am new to all of this so comments or critiques are welcome.

I bought the DIY kit from Yuriy which is excellent. That soldered together nicely and other than a few stumbles on my part getting the USB wires connected right it has worked well. I downloaded an enclosure off Thingiverse for my 3D printer but had to modify it a bit to get the standoff holes in the right places. I liked it because it has a thin cover that when printed in white lets me see the "heartbeat" and bluetooth LEDs blinking.
TouchDRO.jpg

This was mounted on a vertical surface just behind the mill and uses a little 5V power supply from Amazon that (hopefully) will prevent any interference from the motor on the machine. I still need to print a chip cover for that power supply.

Enclosure.jpg

I started with the Z Axis as I thought that would be the most challenging. I took everything off the front of the mill including what HF calls the "graduated rod" in their parts diagram. I then used a 1/2x13 piece of all thread and bolted it where the "graduated rod" was. I then squared up a chunk of aluminum to 1" x 1" x 2" and drilled and tapped a hole down the center. I also drilled and tapped two 5mm holes to hold the plate that connects to the DRO read head. I used jam nuts on the top and bottom of the aluminum block because there is slop in the threaded 1/2x13 threads. The jam nuts make it quite solid.

Z axis.jpg