Opinions On This Lathe

pertyfly

Registered
Registered
Hi all. I am new to this world. I am looking to get a small lathe for home and see what I can make from it. I am looking at this lathe locally right now but I don't know if it is any good or who makes it. I was wondering if I could get some opinions or even a manufacturer. The seller said all he can find is the plate in the picture. I don't know if that is the lathe manufacturer or just a tool reseller. I can't find any info on it. Thanks!

Also, any idea what this may be worth?

image1-2.JPG ad_1_1449430232423.jpg ad_0_1449430232422.jpg ad_2_1449430232426.jpg

The label tells the lathe is manufactured by Pratt&Whitney (famous lathe manufacturer, aircraft engines etc.). It looks to be a nice lathe and I would be interested if it was not on the other side of the globe. It seems to be well equipped with chucks and collets.

The value here in Sweden would be around 800 dollars.

http://www.lathes.co.uk/pratt&whitney/

Last edited:
My concern would be safety with those open pulleys, a machine can mangle your bones and flesh and yank off fingers in a split second. Its an even greater concern if you work alone and there's no one to call 911 or apply a tourniquet.

Thanks for the info so far. In terms of the gears provided, would that be a set? Or would there be some missing? What else would I need that is not shown?

Thanks.

Hi pertyfly,

coolidge certainly has a point about open pulleys, but that wouldn't stop me from buying that lathe, but I definitely would mount it very differently with the counter-shaft behind the lathe (not above).