Pm 1128vf-lb Questions

koba49

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I am new to the Forum, I have been working as a machinist for over 30 years, after all this time I have decided to get a small lathe for my garage. I have been kicking this idea around for a few years, after doing all the research I was going to go with a grizzly 0752 but the stand for it was sold out so I did not order it. I was looking up more information on this machine, and I forgot that Bolton and Precision Mathews also sold lathes, I did research them but that was some time ago. After looking at the PM lathes I thought the PM 1127VF-LB was just right for what I needed, I joined this forum because I wanted to talk directly to people actually are using the machines I was interested in. The YouTube videos people post are helpful, but detailed information can be lacking. I was looking around this forum yesterday for info on the 1127 and found that there is an 1128 model. I like this machine a lot I did notice that a few members have one of these lathes I am going to call PM later today and get more information about the 1128 I wanted to open a thread because I may have some questions for the end users before I order one. I would like to thank you in advance for your help.

Hi koba49 and welcome to the site. I'm just starting to get into the hobby of home shop machining. I don't have any background in the sport but I'm learning. I bought the PM 1127VF-LB less than a year ago and have made a few chips. I also at the same time got the PM-25MV mill. As I stated I'm just starting out so no expert advice can be given. But I can offer/share what I've learned so far. If you need any pictures or info on this lathe let me know and I will do the best I can to answer. I don't know if its a typo but you type 1127 and 1128 in your post. Looking at Matt's (PM's) web site they only have the 1127 lathe. Again, welcome to the site.