Rutland RF-30 Fine Feed Travel Issues

MOUCHRA

Registered
Registered
Hello,

My name is Roger and I am very new to machining. I enjoy welding and restoring/repairing cars.
I have worked for the engineering department of an oil refinery for the last 30 years.

I was given a Rutland RF-30 as a gift, and it is fairly well taken care of. The previous owner disassembled the fine feed for it and put it back together, but it is not working properly as it used to (he mentioned).
I disassembled it myself and have a manual with the parts drawing for a Rong Fu-30 but the assembly for the fine feed does not match mine. The Rong Fu Part 107 (page attached for worm gear) does not match mine. Mine does not have a knob to adjust and allow the fine thread to work but a screw and the shape of the worm gear is different. I tried several assembly options and order of assembly with no luck. The fine feed is either hard to turn or stops at 2" and it starts slipping, not sure if there is a specific drawing or way to assemble this. I would greatly appreciate any help from these forum members. I have a attached a couple of pics of the fine feed assembly for my machine as well.
Thank you.

Attachments

• Rong Fu 30 Parts Diagram.pdf
    1.2 MB · Views: 15
  • PXL_20220103_223257507_R.jpg
    PXL_20220103_223257507_R.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 42
  • PXL_20220107_183018302_R.jpg
    PXL_20220107_183018302_R.jpg
    32.7 KB · Views: 41
  • PXL_20220107_183117231.MP_R.jpg
    PXL_20220107_183117231.MP_R.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 42
Roger, it appears that your version of this mill is an older one. Mine matches the pdf breakdown you posted and is very different from what I can see in the pics of yours. Best bet is to search for a IPB of the older machines and see if you can sort this out.

Hello mikey,
Thank you for your response. I found the manual that matches mine a few minutes ago. I will read and continue to reach out. I am thinking that maybe something is worn or installed incorrectly.