Shorten an NPT tap?

keeena

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
So, its my first time having to make some NPT threads (1/8" and 1/4" NPT) to make an air distribution block. I found that the taps required a significant amount of depth in order to allow the fitting to thread in with enough engagement. For example, the 1/4" NPT tap required a 3/4" deep hole. In most fittings and fixtures (like air regulators) that I have seen, the 1/4" NPT threads only seem to run in about 1/2" deep. In my application: I need to keep the threaded depth to about 1/2"

The NPT taps I have seem to need to be threaded in about 3-4 threads shy of the full tap in order for the part to install at a normal depth/thread engagement.

I was planning on removing about 3-4 threads from the end of the tap (and yes: I would add a starting taper to the first 2-3 courses). I just wanted to see if my experience with NPT tapping depth is normal and if I'm going to be creating any issues by shortening the tap.

Last edited:
I've noted the same with both 1/8" and 1/4" NPTs- making the same sort of part- an air distribution block
Grinding the tap would help (although I didn't), and go up by maybe one or two drill sizes
-Mark
PS I also found Morse brand pipe taps cut better than cheap Irwin taps

Last edited:
Well, regarding this, I have never seen a spec on how deep the tap is expected to go in. Anybody have a reference for this? I could not find anything in Machinery's Handbook, though there is a lot of info on NPT stuff.

I just did a 1"-11.5tpi in stainless, about killed me off.

Pretty common experience for me. Seems to vary from tap to tap. I would go the larger drill route, but try it in a scrap piece first. Mike