Solder iron recommendations

D

Douglasr

Forum Guest
Register Today
My soldering iron has died and I am seeking recommendations for its replacement. I do light to medium jobs, the toughest being soldering tabs on rechargeable battery rebuilds. Anybody have any current favorites? Thanks

Hi Douglasr,
Weller irons is pretty much what i have in my toolbox and in my service truck,
but i have a SPC Technologies digital bench soldering station that i do most of my soldering with at the shop

1521767551633.png

I'll second the Weller irons, particularly the older TCP (Temperature Controlled Pencil) - simple and reliable, you can select the temperature range you want (by fitting different tips, different Curie points to operate / not operate the magnetic switch) and there are lots of tips/temperatures to choose from. I have 4 of 'em, even one dedicated to plastics welding :)
I've been using them for nearly 50 years and have never had one fail, other than one that got crushed...

Dave H. (the other one)

Rechargeable batteries need spot welding but can be soldered.

If soldered you heed real hot and real clean iron to allow fast heat transfer and solder flow to get it soldered before the battery gets hot.

Anything Weller is good stuff.

For actual soldering on the batteries themselves a helper of good fix turning to hold the matériel with pre-tinning of the conductors and batteries with a Weller 250 watt GUN.

Having the tip clean and get it hot which only takes seconds then touch battery with iron and solder for maybe a quarter second to tin it.

Place and hold tinned conductor on battery and repeat with the iron to solder it.

A large iron also works but too hard to keep tip correctly clean and it takes too long to get hot.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337Z using Tapatalk