Starting Out Right - Mill Vs Lathe Coordinate System

PocoJoe

Registered
Registered
I'm really new at this hobby (first posting, first attempt to learn rather than maim) and am setting up igaging scales for my shoptask. I'm trying to teach myself to think in gcodes from the beginning and so am trying to set my DRO scales to mimic the conventions of CNC, which I understand describes everything in terms of tool motion. I found the following to describe translations of the tool in terms of coordinate system (haven't found the convention to describe rotation as plus/minus forward/backward yet). I'd appreciate a read to see if I have this right before I start drilling holes and chopping up my new gauges.

There was a long thread that described MILL motion, that in its most succinct form led to this summary:

X+ - table moves left/west
Y+ - Table moves away from you/North
Z+ - Tool moves up/into spindle.

From the perspective of the operator standing afore the machine:

X+ Tool movement to right of operator (Table moves Left)
Y+ Tool moves toward operator (Table moves away)
Z+ Tool moves up/into spindle, away from the work.

The Y axis has me a bit confused. This would put the origin of a tool path in the upper left corner of a sheet of graph paper. (This is common in computer graphics but uncommon in mapping, at least in the northern hemisphere!)

I grabbed this from a professor in Ireland, it seems consistent with the convention that I was familiar with:

http://derek.dkit.ie/graphics/vectorMathematics/vectorMathematics.html

upload_2016-1-3_11-27-32.png

So, from the perspective of both the tool and the operator, both for the lathe and the mill, the LEFT HAND hand rule is what describes tool motion. I aim my left index finger towards me (postive tool motion toward the operator is plus Y), my thumb points to the right (positive tool movement to the right is plus X) , and index finger points upward (positive tool movement is into the spindle of the mill).