TEMCO phase converter installation - electrical assistance appreciated

E

ecdez

Forum Guest
Register Today
I picked up a TEMCO phase converter a few months ago and am finally getting around to installing it.

Here's the first issue I noticed and thus my first question.

If you look at page 5 in the instruction manual (http://attachments.temcoindustrialpower.com/Data_sheet/XR11_Data_Sheet.pdf) it shows that the single phase side is grounded but the 3 phase side is not. I've read a few things that say that 3 phase is not required to be grounded. OK, fine. I look at my machines though and they have plugs with 4 prongs. What's a guy to do?

You should bond together the incoming ground, the ground on the Temco unit, and the machine ground connections to form a common ground point.

I was thinking it had to be grounded, it just didn't make sense to me for it not to be. That said, I'm a experienced novice with electrical wiring and a total virgin at 3-phase.

Thanks for the response.

I picked up a TEMCO phase converter a few months ago and am finally getting around to installing it.

Here's the first issue I noticed and thus my first question.

If you look at page 5 in the instruction manual (http://attachments.temcoindustrialpower.com/Data_sheet/XR11_Data_Sheet.pdf) it shows that the single phase side is grounded but the 3 phase side is not. I've read a few things that say that 3 phase is not required to be grounded. OK, fine. I look at my machines though and they have plugs with 4 prongs. What's a guy to do?

They mean that none of the three phase conductors (T1, T2, T3) are normally grounded. The fourth prong on your plugs is for the non-current-carrying "green wire" safety ground that connects to the frames of the machines.

The ground symbols in that drawing represent the safety ground for the non-current-carrying metal parts of the system. They do not connect to any current-carrying conductors.