To buy or not to buy (Atlas 101.28910)

TexasPyro

Registered
Registered
I'm new to the forum, been reading as much as possible. There is a ton of knowledge on this forum, I'd like some help if yall don't mind. I had a nice thread going the other day that was unfortunately lost when the site went down. Thanks to those who contributed, it was a warm welcome to the board.

Thanks to This Old Tony and Abom79 I've found a new addiction. I'm new to this and have been looking for a 12'x28-40" lathe for a few weeks now. I've read hundred of forum posts, watched countless hours of YouTube and have decided now is the time to buy a lathe. Seems like everyone in my area values their lathe as much as their first born.

I found what looks to be a nice Atlas 101.28910 but seems to be priced high. I have spoken to the seller, he (like all the others I've spoken with) has very little to say aside from its in great shape, ways are perfect, price is firm.... That seems to be the story I get from everyone, their lathes are all pristine examples of what they're selling and wont budge on price and are very reluctant to actually give much info out over the phone.

My only real concern (aside from value) is if this lathe will suite my needs? I have no intention of turning anything large, this machine seems to be the right fit, but have heard complaints about the flat ways, etc.. Anyone have any thoughts or ideas?

EDIT: Forgot to add his asking price, $2250

I appreciate any help yall may have and thank you in advance.

00x0x_UWBi2fY9FK_1200x900.jpg00i0i_hxz8ODDN36x_600x450.jpg00G0G_dVqyEVUpwMa_1200x900.jpg00I0I_gyHF62AejLM_1200x900.jpg00b0b_lDXJJtyx4fV_1200x900.jpg00g0g_3QYcIeA1xpb_1200x900.jpg00g0g_goa8Oiie2mh_1200x900.jpg00N0N_kBEUBO3E4x0_1200x900.jpg00303_j7Zn65vPGpD_1200x900.jpg00w0w_lm4kfQzjXlY_1200x900.jpg

Last edited:
What's his asking price ? I have a similar undermount 3996 up here , they go $1200-$1400 similarly tooled . Cab has a 3996 also and seems to like it .