Tramming PM 833tv

frank13

Registered
Registered
I am a total newbie to this. Just got my mill and have been setting it up. So far it seems great. I have been trying to get it trammed using a tram tool from Stupid Simple tools. I have been trying to shim the column but seems like I am chasing my tail. The best I have managed to do so far is 10 ten thousandths. Any suggestions or idea on where I am going wrong.

Thanks

I am a total newbie to this. Just got my mill and have been setting it up. So far it seems great. I have been trying to get it trammed using a tram tool from Stupid Simple tools. I have been trying to shim the column but seems like I am chasing my tail. The best I have managed to do so far is 10 ten thousandths. Any suggestions or idea on where I am going wrong.

Thanks
Watch this video:

Thanks
Good luck the 833 is a sub par mill junk at it's best. I regret buying it and will never buy from PM again. Go look for a old mill that was not made overseas.

Thanks
so you are off by .001? (10 ten thousands)?
over what distance? if it is .001" over 1" that is a different animal than .001" over 20"

what issues are you having?
Ok so over 6in I can be out .0015 the head down spindle upbut when I move the X 6in out I have up to .006 out and if I go 6in past center I got. 004 out. If I do the Same thing but move y to the next rib I'm .002 out and .004 out if I go to the last rib.

Now if I bring the head up and the spindle down my numbers are all off but not the option so I can't find a happy middle.

But hey I can shim my work and still get what I need done it just takes 5x longer to setup and a lot of math. So why am I so upset with this mill. If I plunge a hole using a new mill that can cut you just looking at it the head moves around as much as. 010 out same as it does when I bore a hole out with the boring head.
I can still get what I need to do but the setup time and how slow it takes to remove. 020 off the OD of a motorcycle hub makes me cry..