Welding - WTH?

7 million acres?

For some perspective in the US the 10 year average number of acres burnt annually is 6.9 million, with about 1/4 to 1/3 of that total occurring in Alaska. To date in 2019 the US has burnt 4.6 million acres, with 1/2 of that occurring in Alaska.

So far in 2019 Australia has burnt a combined 12 million acres and they are only in the middle of their fire season. By landmass Australia is roughly 2/3 the size of the USA and they are only in the middle of their fire season.

Australia is no stranger to fire, but 2019 is set to make several new records, it has been a very bad year for fires.

I used to be a volunteer firefighter here in Northern New Jersey and we had the occasional brush fire but they were always pretty manageable, but down in the pine lands they have huge fires because of all the needles that the trees drop there is natural kindling spread all over the ground. And once it gets going and hot enough even the live trees burn. My late cousin used to work in Georgia on a large timber plantation of pine trees a couple months out of the year, he was always clearing the fire roads with a large dozer, and the fire breaks. They would do a controlled burn every year of a third of the property to keep the fuel load on the ground manageable. Fires unfortunately are a natural thing , it is amazing to see how quickly nature regenerates after a fire but unfortunately that doesn't include the people or a lot of the animals who perished in it. I have a good friend in Australia right now, he is safe so far but wild fire is a scary thing it can change direction in an instant and the wind can carry embers pretty far, I pray for all involved. TJ