What does a brand new machinist need?

FanMan

Mechanical Hacker
Registered
My 30 year old son in law finally realized that his degree in English Literature wasn't a ticket to a sparkling career path and switched gears; he's now in a machinist training program; should finish up this Spring. It amazes him that he can now actually talk shop with me. I'm not a professional machinist by trade, I'm an engineer, but I have the pleasure of working with some real pros. Anyway, instead of the usual stupid stupid stuff we usually get him for birthdays/Christmas, I'd like to get him some tools for his new career. I know what kind of stuff I have and use in my own shop, an assortment of stuff picked up over the years as necessary or opportunity presents, but what is a new machinist on his first real job expected to bring with him? He has no real background working with his hands, my daughter brought more hand tools to the marriage than he did. Hopefully he takes to it; there's a huge shortage of qualified machinists and toolmakers here in CT.

I'm thinking basic stuff like calipers and micrometers, but I'm open to other suggestions. I always lean to good quality older (used) stuff rather than cheaper new stuff myself.

I use digital Calipers, but I'd recommend dial, no batteries to die. Perhaps, a couple of them. Qualitiy 6 and 12" scales, I ferget what the grades are but they should have fractions on one side and hundredths on the other. Yea, mikes are neceeary, but until he knows what the needs, don't get a 'set', maybe one and two inch to start with.

How about a small Kennedy box, too, to keep the tools in. Gerstner boxes are nice but foolish expensive.

I'd 2nd the small to med sized tool box. & the Capliers.

It all depends on where he ends up working what he will need to supply for himself,
having a place to put those things is a great start.

Hopefully he takes to it; there's a huge shortage of qualified machinists and toolmakers here in CT.