What Lathe To Keep?

songbird

Active User
Registered
I am a retired carpenter and fairly new to machine work, (about 5 years). I have a classing 5914 lathe that I absolutely love and would never part with, but have got into buying small lathes, cleaning/repairing them, then selling them for a small profit to support my machining habit. The problem I have is I would love to keep one as a back up lathe, but can't decide which one to keep. I currently have a 1945 9" south bend model A bench top, a 1948 10" Logan/Montgomery wards bench top, and a 1966 12"atlas/craftsman commercial cabinet model. Easy lathe has normal wear, and each with it's own advantages and disadvantages. They all have QCGBs. You would think the bigger 12" atlas/craftsman would be a no brainier, but the flat ways and "zymak" gears has me worried. All suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks, Jim.

I was a wood butcher myself for many years. I have a 12" Craftsman for my small lathe and have been happy with it. I've heard others here say the flat ways are really a none issue and I would tend to agree, as long as everything is adjusted properly. Not a bad position to be in having three to pick from. Mike

I've always been a south bend fan myself, if you have a bigger lathe anyway size isn't much of an issue.

I've always been a south bend fan myself, if you have a bigger lathe anyway size isn't much of an issue.

What about other lathe features? Does your Wards/Logan have the plain apron or the automatic one? Correct me if I am wrong but I believe the South Bend Model A has separate feed for turning and half nuts for threading, I don't believe this is true for the Atlas. The Logan will have separate feed if it has the automatic apron (like my Logan 820).

I believe they all have power cross feed.

Last edited:
Keep the 9" SBL, you won't be disappointed! Next choice would be the Logan lathe.