Where is the Cross Slide Lock on PM-1660TL?

erikmannie

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
I have been using my PM-1660TL for a few months now, & I have yet to find a cross slide lock.

I just went through the whole manual, & my best guess is that (1) there is no cross slide lock, (2) it is on the cross slide handwheel, or (most likely), (3) it is accomplished by manipulating the four bolts & set screw in the middle of the cross slide (picture below).

Does anybody know?

The 4 bolts and set screw that I am referring to are in the middle of both of the diagrams below. I have not messed with mine yet, so I don’t know how they work.

CFE8C1E4-C730-4513-BC20-B3711B991162.png

3A9B8068-8DEB-45D0-A4FE-87F65E701B78.png

Reference:

Last edited:
There’s no bolt on the right side of the cross slide?

There’s no bolt on the right side of the cross slide?

That is what I would have expected. That’s how it is on my other lathe.

That is where my DRO scale is located, so maybe it is blocked. I did not see it in the manual, but I will go look again.

EDIT: They call the cross slide a saddle in the manual. It starts on page 62. I do not see such a bolt.

Do some lathes not have cross slide locks?

Maybe one uses the gib adjustment screws for this?

Those 4 bolts in the middle, if loosened, enable the operator the tighten the set screw in the middle which pushes down on a wedge and (this is what I don’t fully understand) open a half nut which enables the operator to either (1) adjust the cross slide backlash, or (2) disengage the cross slide entirely so that one may use the taper attachment.

I don’t see how this would lock the cross slide.

EDIT: you do not manipulate these bolts as in (2) above in order to engage or disengage the taper attachment.

Last edited:
It also seems that it would be impossible to have a cross slide lock in a handwheel assembly.

My money is on: it doesn’t have a cross slide lock so use the gib adjustment screws for that.