Which 3 Jaw Chuck and collet chuck for incoming PM1340GT

Serpico1985

Registered
Registered
I am new to lathes. I purchased a PM1340GT that should be here in early March. It's a single phase that will be used for gunsmithing. I've been using a mill for a year now and am still new to machining but learning.

When I purchased the lathe I got the Precision Matthews brand high precision 4 jaw lathe chuck that will ship with it. In talking with the other gunsmiths who are guiding me I know that I need a 3 jaw chuck and a collet chuck. I'm trying to figure out the best bang for my buck on these items. I'm not incapable of spending some money (I'm not on a tight "Chinese only" type budget) but I don't want to burn money needlessly. I know the 3 jaw will get used the most along with the collet chuck for what I need to do with them.

I've looked at Buck adjust-tru 3 jaw chucks and lordy are they expensive. The 8" 3 jaw with a D1-4 back plate is around $1700-$1800 new. I thought about trying to find a used one on ebay with no back plate and combining that with a new D1-4 back plate but it's hard for me to tell if the used condition is satisfactory or not. I've seen them on ebay for anywhere from $200 to $700. The $200 ones look rough. The $600-$700 look much better but I'm not %100 sure they are what they say they are as I'm unfamiliar with the markings on the older buck chucks.

As far as collet chucks go I'm all ears. Don't know much about them. I've seen the Chinese ones that are around $150 to a bison brand that are around $460 with no back plate. Any advise would be appreciated.

Thank you.

I have a PM1340 outfitted with a Chandox 3J, with Adust-Tru and 2-piece jaws. It was supplied by PM, made in Taiwan and an outstanding chuck. I also have a Bison 3J, Adjust-Tru with 2-piece jaws and it's also a great chuck. I'm not sure if PM is still importing the Chandox, but the Bison I have and can recommend is shown here. I don't think you need a Bison quality D1-4 mount.