Which Magnetic Scales

Hozzie

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
After reading one of the other threads I have decided I like the idea of using the TouchDRO system. I plan to order Magnetic scales to put on my Jet JTM-4VS. It has an old Sargon DRO which works, but is only 2 axis. I decided to just go ahead and replace everything with new now, add a Z and tach and be done with it.

So looking at Magnetic scales, I am basically going by some common brands. There is Ditron at the cheaper end, but they seem to work pretty well from what I can tell and then I have looked at the Mitutoyo's which are more expensive. I am not against spending the money if it makes sense, but I am not sure if it is really needed. I am just a home hobbyist.

So what I have looked at:

Mitutoyo: https://www.mscdirect.com/product/details/05936141
What I can't seem to find is the voltage, etc these use so not sure they would even work. These appear to be ABS scales so not sure that is supported either. To get all three sizes I am looking at approx $900. Maybe there are other version of the Mitutoyo's I should be looking at if I want "better quality" scales than the Ditrons?

Ditron:
I see they show three different types (DMA, DMS, DMB). No idea what the differences are and which may be the best option. I am guessing these would be around $500. I am confident these are supported.

Are there better options? Recommendations?

While I am asking I figure Yuriy will see this. I was looking at getting the Lenovo Tab M10 Plus, 10.3" FHD Android Tablet, Octa-Core Processor, 64GB Storage, 4GB RAM tablet for the display. Is 4GB RAM good enough?

Thanks.

Last edited:
I have Ditron DMR-200 1 micron read heads on my lathe. About $100/ read head and about $30/meter for the magnetic tape. I can't see any difference between those and Renishaw units that I have on my mill.

I don't have any experience with Mitutoyo magnetic scales, so I can't comment on those.