Which mill on 2k budget

Abody711

Registered
Registered
I have a 2000-2500 budgeted for a benchtop mill. Have been looking at Jet Jmd-18 and PM 30mv. Not needing dro at this time. Can power 110v or 220v. Will used occasionally not daily. Looking for advice. I am a novice to milling. No advice to little or to much. Thanks in advance.

Allen

If you've got the space I'd get a used knee mill for its greater abilities. You should be able to find one that is decent in that price range. It may also come with accessories that will save you a lot of $. Seems like bench mills would run out of Z travel really quickly with a rotary table and chuck mounted or even just a vice, work piece and chucking reamer. I have a used jet 9 X 49 and have had to work around it's Z travel. Swing & slide the head out so I can clamp the work hanging down outside of the bed. I guess much depends on what you intend to make. I do some repair work so get odd parts to work on.

The real questions are:

What is the longest/largest surface you will machine?
What materials will you most likely be working in? (plastic, aluminum, brass, steel)
Do you have floor (or ceiling) space limitations. If it is a big knee mill, the lift-point on your crane/hoist/lift will be above the Mill to put it in place if it is a Knee Mill.

Also, beware of someone's tired old mill, which has scratched/grooved/swaybacked dovetails. If you don't know how to evaluate a Used Mill, bring a friend who can. If you have no machinist buddies in your area, consider a new mill instead.

For the tiny desktop mills, you can stay WELL under you budget. I think right now Micromark has a close-out deal on a Mill, vice, collets, endmills for less than1800 bucks (that model is too small for my goals, but that is why I asked the questions above).