White Hydrogen?

MrWhoopee

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
I've been skeptical of hydrogen as a fuel for a long time, mostly due to the energy inputs required to produce it and/or byproducts from the production. I may have to change my opinion.

I've been skeptical of hydrogen as a fuel for a long time, mostly due to the energy inputs required to produce it and/or byproducts from the production. I may have to change my opinion.

There is a number of reasons Hydrogen it a poor choice for fuel to drive cars... Storage options are one of the reasons how it is come by in any volume is another.

Something of note in the link is that the hydrogen is hypothesized to be the result of water-mineral reactions. As a kind-of chemist I'm skeptical that those reactions involve most rocks, which consist of silicates -- silicon-oxygen based minerals. Getting hydrogen out of water means that the oxygen has to react with something else. Compounds that ALREADY are formed of oxygen in combination with something else aren't going to work.

Anyone remember water gas? It was used around the turn of the 20th century before natural gas became available. It was made by passing steam over very hot coal AKA carbon. So one possible route for "white hydrogen" is the reaction between hot water and hot coal at great depth.