[How do I?] Wiring Up Single Phase 220v Drum Switch To Motor On My Bridgeport

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
Hey y'all, can one of you bright folks help me wire in this drum switch? I will post it by pictures

First pic is the brand new Leeson single phase motor with adapter plate.
IMG_3789.JPG

next pic is the wiring schematic on the side of the motor
IMG_3790.JPG
next are the wires as shipped. This is wired as shipped for 220v
IMG_3797.JPG
next are some pics of the new single phase drum switch
IMG_3791.JPG IMG_3792.JPG IMG_3794.JPG

would someone like to help me out hooking up these wires to the switch? L1 and L2 are my 2 hot wires on my 220v plug. The load lines (T2, T3,T8,etc) are the wires from the motor. But what is 12?

IMG_3793.JPG
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
just a FYI,the switch terminals 8 and 12 don't necessarily receive those motor wire numbers.


for ccw rotation:
you'll use switch L1 and switch L2 for your line connections (220vac) at the switch
motor T2,T3,T8 are connected together inside the motor enclosure with a wire nut or insulated end termination- no other connections are made on these wires
switch T1 will connect to motor P1
motor P2 will get a wire nut or other insulated end termination- no other connection is made with this wire
switch T2 will connect with motor T4 and T5

for clockwise rotation
switch L1 and L2 are still line connections
motor t2,t3,t5 connected together, no other connections are made
switch T1 connects to motor P1
motor P2, end termination- no other connections
switch T2 connects with motor T4 and T8
 
Last edited:

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
you may need to post a switch diagram if you'd like to run the motor in both directions.

but essentially you'll need to switch motor t5 and t8 to reverse rotation
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
you may need to post a switch diagram if you'd like to run the motor in both directions.

but essentially you'll need to switch motor t5 and t8 to reverse rotation

Yes, I want it to run in both directions. There is no wiring diagram that came with the switch tho, so what do I do here?
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
you'll need to get a hold of an ohm meter and find how the switch is wired
once you can ascertain the internal connections we can go further
in the switch center position there should be no continuity between poles
you'll need to actuate the switch and record the continuity
then switch the switch to the opposite pole and record the continuity once again
once you have a roadmap, the connections should be easy to make
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
ok, look at the second pic of the switch.
with the switch in OFF position, the 8 and blank (to the right in the picture) and also the 12 and blank to right of picture) make continuity. Not the blanks to the left of the numbers 8 / 12, but the blanks under T1
When the switch is in FORWARD position, T1/L1 show cont., blank and blank under T1 & L1 show cont, bottom blank and black no contL2 / T2 show cont, blank and 8 under L2/T2 show no cont, blank and 12 do.
Reverse: L1/T1 cont., L2/T2 show cont., blank and 8 under L2/T2 cont., blank and 12 np cont. blank/blank under T1/L1 no cont., blank and blank under those blanks do shpw cont/.
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
The guy from ACI is supposed to get back with me tomorrow with the diagram for his switch and the Leeson motor
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
it appears that the switch may have removeable jumper bars, if that is the case we can configure the switch any way you'd like
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
Those are only covers that pop off, that hold the wiring in place.

. The old guy from the switch company hasn't gotten back to me yet, maybe tomorrow. He told me to email him a pic of the Leeson motor diagram, which I did, but he says he couldn't see it, so I re emailed him the pic as an attachment. He says he will email me the correct diagram when he sees the schematic for the motor.
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
the jumpers i was referring to are small metal clips that connect the poles of the switch
if you loosen the wire holding screws enough , you may be able to remove the jumpers and configure the switch at will.
but a wiring diagram will take a lot of guesswork and thinking out of the equation.
if i were right next to you, i'd be able to tell you in 2 seconds, but i'm at a slight disadvantage here 1800 miles away and all :)
i'm happy to help when you need it.
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
I'm sure I will be in touch as soon as I get his schematic. Thanks for the offer
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
Ok, here's what I got from ACI (switch company)

file:///C:/Users/Charles%20Hallan/Downloads/128447-000-11%20LAYOUT%20(1)%20(1).pdf

Don't know if this will show? If not how do I "save" a pdf file so I can repost it
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
the pdf didn't show only the address did.

when you reply to my post , look at the lower right portion of the bottom of your screen, you'll see 3 tabs
one says post reply, one says upload a file, the other says more options...

you'll click the upload a file tab, you'll be prompted to upload
click on the pdf file you'd like to upload and click the insert tab
the pdf will show up at the bottom of your reply post
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
maybe i'm missing something, but the wiring diagram indicates, the switch is not for your kind of motor.
not to say that it can't be made to work, but i do believe it won't work if you were to follow their schematic.
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
Hi Mutt,
yes sir, those type of drum switches are very easy to utilize.
for simplicity and excellent service life that type of drum switch would be my choice
 

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
Ok, Can ya make me up a drawing for that drum switch? I'll buy one of them. If the manufacturer won't take this one back, I'll put it on eBay. I need my to use my mill without worrying that the 3 phase converter ain't gonna blow up in the middle of a job. I've smoked the caps at least 4 or 5 times, and the mill wasn't even under a load, Sometimes it will run for a while, some times not.
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
Yes, sir- i can make you a diagram
i can even do you one better, i have an extra drum switch lying around
if you want it, maybe we can trade something or work out other arrangements
you can email me :
ulmadoc@gmail.com
 

Ulma Doctor

Infinitely Curious
Registered
Joined
Feb 2, 2013
Messages
996
Hi Mutt,
I worked out the wiring diagram for the Square D Drum Switch
it will be there in a couple days

i apologize for the crude draft of the wiring diagram
i hope it is easy enough to follow.
give me a shout if you don't understand something
double check your connections before powering up
Scan_20161030.jpg

if the rotation is opposite of your preference after installation:
disconnect power supply
remove T8 from switch 3
remove T5 from switch 2
install T8 to switch 2
install T5 to switch 3
recheck connections
throw some 220/230vac to it and the rotation will be reversed of the last configuration
 
Last edited:

Mutt

Registered
Registered
Joined
Aug 16, 2014
Messages
333
Looks easy enough. Thanks for all your help. I'll post some pics of every thing as I do the conversion, and make a parts list of every thing needed, in case someone else wants to do the same and switch over to single phase on their mill.
 
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock