Let's dust this off a little

motormech1

Kenny
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Hi everyone. Just seeing if anyone's alive in here. New guy here. I'm an A&P currently building Engines for GE. I'm also a pilot and love tinkering around our flying club's grass strip on the weekends. I currently have a pretty sweet Cessna 120 that I keep the rust off with but have had a few others. Give me a shout out if there's any aviation nuts left in here. Cheers!
20210710_124038.jpgFB_IMG_1651678598261.jpg

Nice looking plane! Never got a chance to fly a taildragger when I was active.

Thanks! It's my favorite type of flying. Me and a buddy from work restore vintage aircraft so we get a fair amount of tailwheel time. Although, for cross country trips my 182 was pretty sweet when I had it. Plan getting another one down the road. I guess just different tools for different jobs, eh?
20200822_145828.jpg

Little different "weight class" than your Cessna:

fr_517.jpg

fr_519.jpg

fr_970_size880.jpg

fr_903.jpg

fr_514.jpg

CH101 Cormorant, which is a variant of the EH101 (UK - Merlin). It's a big bird, but for a chopper it's only classed as a "medium lift", even though it takes a 30,000 lb hook (limited to 10,000 lbs by the airframe loading).

I flew the Ch113/A Labrador/Voyager before that, which is a SAR variant of the H46 Sea Knight.

I'm retired now though. 3 years since I've had daylight beneath my feet.....sometimes I miss it, other times you couldn't pay me to go back.

I used to say if I made it to retirement, I'd never fly again.

I lost several friends on the job (we're the nut jobs taking off while others are trying to drag their planes into a warm dry hangar). I figured if I made it to retirement, no more rolling the dice because "snake eye's" will eventually turn up.....and I've used up all my luck.