About to buy a Clausing Colchester 1336 Engine Lathe (Master Mark I)

bradpj53

H-M Supporter - Silver Member
H-M Supporter - Silver Member
This is my first post; I am an experienced woodworker but machine tool newbie wading into the waters. I have always been an Old Iron fan, but everything I seemed to find in my part of the NE USA was heavily used and overpriced; I expected to go the PM route. However I have located a 1960's (?) Clausing Colchester 13X36 that has been extensively over hauled by the seller. I hope to pick it up next weekend. The machine number on the bed is 3/34544; I can't locate a date for that from the online resources I've found but plan to call Clausing for more info. I will be posting many questions on this as time goes on; it is 3PH run by a VFD that the seller is keeping so I'll want to sort that out. Looking forward to other owners of these machines for advice and suggestions. Glad to be a part of this forum. Thanks!

Brad

I'm trying to sort out my transport options; I've seen weight numbers variously listed from 1200 to 2000; I'm thinking 1400-1600 and too heavy for my half ton bed. Any hard figue=res out there?

Brad

Welcome Brad.
Colchester lathes are made in England. They are very good machines.
Clausing is the US distributor.
I have a Clausing Colchester 15x50, made in the mid 70’s. I love it!
I think you found a nice machine.

Grab all the tooling you can!! The face plate on the floor and hopefully a four jaw too. The tooling can easily cost more than the lathe.
Keep us up to date on the purchase and the move. Lots of pics please :)

First, welcome to the forum. The lathe looks like to be in great condition. I found this online

> According to http://www.lathes.co.uk they weigh 840-890 kg depending on
> the length of the bed. That's 1850-1960 lbs, so your guess was pretty good.
: