Atlas shaper, What would you pay for this. they want 1000. Is that worth it. I own a mill and lathes. I dont really have a need for it. but why not!

adamnlazybum

Registered
Registered
shaper 1.jpg
shaper 2.jpg
shaper 3.jpg
shaper 4.jpg

For more info. I want to use this to make stuff for my welding jobs, I am new to shapers and have no idea how to tell the condition of these. Ive been doing a bit of research and theyre pretty neat. I have a little extra to spend, so if its worth it to you guys, i might do it. No base, only what you see there is what ill get.

That is about what they ask for price around here but in Canadian dollars. 35% less. The one in the picture doesn't have an original shaper vise. A shaper vise is lower profile and will clamp tighter. A local place here has a 36" Cincinnati, with about 60 thou in wear. They still use it for one job that comes in every year.

I have a 20" Douglas shaper. Collects a lot of dust.
That being said I go thru streaks using it. They are slow and methodical. I probably use it more for keyways than anything. A lot of times, if I am doing a keyway in a small pulley or gear. I will hand crank it so it's not under power. Works just as well but less likely to pull the part from the vise:rolleyes: before you have had time push stop.
I like mine for flattening bigger pieces of thick plate. I can do a set up and start cutting and work on something else till it's done.
Good luck.
Cheers
Martin

That is about what they ask for price around here but in Canadian dollars. 35% less. The one in the picture doesn't have an original shaper vise. A shaper vise is lower profile and will clamp tighter. A local place here has a 36" Cincinnati, with about 60 thou in wear. They still use it for one job that comes in every year.

I have a 20" Douglas shaper. Collects a lot of dust.