Audio components manufacturing?

great white

Active User
Registered
I’m in to vintage audio. Part of that means vinyl records.
I’ve got a couple retail quality turntables, but I’d like to try building one myself.

It seems the tone arm is the biggest challenge as it needs to be weighted and balanced properly. “Professional” ones can run in the tens of thousands. Not sure who would pay that, but someone must or they would be out of business.

Has anyone here attempted such a project and if so, a few pointers woukd be appreciated.

I have not, but as an electronics engineer I have frequently laughed at the ridiculous (and un-quantifiable) claims made by those in the high-end audio market. (I'm saying "I", but it was really many of us at work, and we'd trade links to stupid junk like 'silver rock potentiometers, and 'acoustic varnish' and other such snake oil). I'd bet a dollar that any tone arm you made that was half-decent will perform as well as whatever umpty-thousand dollar BS is for sale...

Think the audiophiles claims are real? How 'bout the $700 kapton-insulated power cord - that you plug into your wall, where the power flows along $0.30/ft romex for a hundred yards.

High end audio is one of the biggest areas of hyperbolic claims and absurdity that I've encountered.

GsT