Becoming hobby machinist in the near future.

Rodneyk

Registered
Registered
Hello,

I am a long time woodworker, 3D printer builder/maker (even built a wood cnc) who has wanted to get into machining for a couple of reasons. First I want to make custom designs for 3d print heads which requires working with Steel (nozzles/heat blocks) and Aluminum. I also want to be able to work on firearm components. So I have been reading a lot of forums, watching lots of videos and generally putting my dreams in order. Originally I started looking at some of the Grizzly equipment, but eventually started getting the feeling the PM might be a better value for the money. So I had a few questions and would in generally appreciate any advice before pushing the buy button. My budget is flexible, but not unlimited, and I would prefer Buy once Cry Once over the alternative. Other things I am interested making are precision gears, tools, adding CNC motors to the mill (would love to mill the parts myself).

I intend on purchasing both a mill and a lathe, but since time is a thing and I am only one person I think I should buy one first and buy the other after I have time to get acquainted with the basic operation of the first that I buy. Which would be best to get first? Mill or Lathe. My thought was that the mill should be first since it is slightly more versatile. Also depending on availability.

I have been looking at the PM-935TV as the mill.
What options should I consider, and what options can I hold off on?
What are the things I will need to actually get it working? (endmills, collets, vise, )
How much space around the mill should I plan for?

For the lathe I am looking at the PM-1340GT.
What options should I consider, and what options can I hold off on?
What are the things I will need to actually get it working?
How much space around the lathe should I plan for?