Best saw blades…

Redsquirelhunter

Registered
Registered
What type of band saw blades is best for general steel cutting. Where is the best place to get blades?

I used to get Starrett Bi-Metals , I guess they are still around . I'm sure I'll be searching for them in a while .

+1 on the bi-metals; HSS on the teeth, spring steel for the body. They'll last a long time if you don't abuse them. I was taught to select teeth per inch based on stock thickness; have at least 1 1/2 teeth in contact to keep from "hammering" the blade teeth. For example, if cutting 1/8" thick stock, 8 tpi would put 1 tooth in contact. You'd want to use at least a 12 tpi blade or finer.

I'm a hobbyist and make maybe 200 cuts a year. I have a couple of Morse 3/4" bimetal blades for my horizontal Harbor Freight 7" x 12" saw. Pretty sure they're 10/14 tooth. I paid around $35 each shipped off eBay. If you have a "ubiquitous" 4" x 6" saw, the 64 1/2" x 1/2" bimetals go for around $25 on eBay. HF has 64 1/2" bimetal blades for either $18 or $30 (18 tpi or 10/14 tpi).

My vertical saw is a DoAll ML 16" which has a blade welder. I bought roll stock of varying width and tpi off eBay for under $40 a 100' roll. That's the best value for me for the 10' blades on the DoAll.

Bruce

+1 on the bi-metals; HSS on the teeth, spring steel for the body. They'll last a long time if you don't abuse them. I was taught to select teeth per inch based on stock thickness; have at least 1 1/2 teeth in contact to keep from "hammering" the blade teeth. For example, if cutting 1/8" thick stock, 8 tpi would put 1 tooth in contact. You'd want to use at least a 12 tpi blade or finer.