Bolton Lathe/Mill

IAmJohnny5

Registered
Registered
I'm new to machining and I want to really dive into it and I've been chomping at the bit to finally get a lathe. I found a place that is selling off an entire machine shop of equipment and this is the one I'm going to take a look at this afternoon. It's a Bolton BPD290VF combo lathe/mill.

Pluses and minuses:
-It's in the best condition of the ones I've seen on their offer up and I know I'm in for a lot of tlc to get it up and running. I can handle that.
-I don't have any plans for big parts but precision is a goal, I know combo machines aren't going to be the best for that
-Getting a combo machine saves me the hassle of having to shop around for a milling machine
-Everything here is what I presumably get, so not much in the way of tooling, I think my budget is ok with that
-It's small enough to fit in the garage without taking up too much precious space for my brothers car
-At $1500 I absolutely can't beat the price, normally retails for 7k brand new.
-It's already got a DRO
-This picture is 2 months old and it already looks pretty sun beaten, it could be worse now.

Does this sound like a good buy or should I cool my jets for a little bit longer?
1689700425330.png

1689700450051.png

Hello and welcome.

Simply put Bolton = No

Combo machines are usually not great but my experience with Bolton is that they are poorly built and lack any kind on manufacturer support.

For $1500 you can buy a decent used lathe, then save up for a mill.

Or, if you want to make a road trip here's a small combo machine at a decent price.

I know nothing about the brand but it looks fairly stout for the size.

Here's one near you that might be worth checking out.

Keep asking questions here, we're always happy to help people spend their money.

JOhn

combo machines are frustrating. They don't do anything well.
They are usually small lathes, small mills, the mills only usefulness is if you need to drill mill round stock.