Ditron D80 DRO linear compensation...help?

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1,300
I only entered 3” in mm actual, whatever that is. It figures out one of the parameters, what it thinks the move is, and figures S. I recall having to follow EXACTLY the sequence the manual describes, even though it seems to be more free form. Later, I verified S computation with the formula, it checked.
 

A watkins

Registered
Registered
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
7
I only entered 3” in mm actual, whatever that is. It figures out one of the parameters, what it thinks the move is, and figures S. I recall having to follow EXACTLY the sequence the manual describes, even though it seems to be more free form. Later, I verified S computation with the formula, it checked.
I posted the entire text of the manual on this subject; I don't understand what sequence you are referring to. Could you point it out?
 

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1,300
A watkins, my shop is covered up for a few days for reroofing. Honestly, you have it there, these are the steps I went through, lots of trouble until I set the DRO to metric. It just worked after that. You only have to enter the your standard’s length...in mm. The rest is automatic.
 

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1,300
Ok, here is what works for me:

Press C to enter linear compensation. Select Axis with arrows. Move lathe per the reference block. Select the “L” field, enter the reference distance in mm. Press Enter. Then exit by pressing C again.
 

A watkins

Registered
Registered
Joined
Feb 22, 2014
Messages
7
Right, and the last part is not mentioned in the manual at all, including that there is an S field that you can also enter or edit. So insisting that all I have to do is follow the sequence in the manual is nonsense and is why I posted the manual in the first place. I love going in circles. And no, that manual is NOT any better thany any other garbage Chinese-product manual.

Where this all goes south is if you turn right around and run the calibration again. Imagine that you realized something moved during the first time attempt. So you enter a new L. The DRO’s reaction is to refuse to accept what you entered, and instead displays some other number different from the actual length. In addition it changes S a little. I have not figured out what it is trying to do, but I have figured out that if you want to redo a calibration from the start, you first have to go in and set S to zero. Somehow that convinces it to accept your gage block’s actual length.

And by the way, it makes absolutely no difference whether you enter the lengths in metric or inches. If you look at the formula for S for a second or two you’ll see why. S is simply the percentage difference between L and L1 (with the decimal point shifted) and as such is unitless.

What about other DROs with linear compensation? Do they allow you to edit the compensation figure itself?
 

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1,300
I struggled to calibrate my Ditron system too, but got it eventually, doing just as I said. Bummer you're having trouble.

You do not have to calculate S. You only input the actual length, but in mm. You are correct, it’s a dimensionless number, but you don’t know how the software computes internally. Note the manual shows the range acceptable only in mm/m.
 
Last edited:
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock