Ditron D80 DRO linear compensation...help?

Ken226

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
455
Is this just an issue with magnetic scales? Are any of you with this issue using glass scales?

I have Ditron D80 displays from DRO Pros, on both my mill and lathe, but am using them with glass scales.
 
Last edited:

maticulus

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jun 16, 2021
Messages
7
Is this just an issue with magnetic scales? Are any of you with this issue using glass scales?

I have Ditron D80 displays from DRO Pros, on both my mill and lathe, but am using them with glass scales.

I'm using 1um glass scales and found it necessary to make an adjustment to the "Y" axis. The "X" axis was fine from the start. As mentioned earlier I have to recheck the accuracy against the blocks.
 

Winegrower

H-M Supporter - Sustaining Member
H-M Platinum Supporter
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
1,450
My issues were only with magnetic scales, did not try glass. And for completeness, they were the smaller magnetic scales, don't recall the trade name.
 

pontiac428

John Newman
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2018
Messages
2,509
I have noted that by pressing with a finger on the magnetic strip a few inches away from the read head will show a change in the DRO reading. Putting some wipers on either side of the read head might be helpful, but I have not seen a problem on my mill with the strip exposed to everything.
There is a backing strip, the encoder strip, and the stainless guard strip that are all supposed to be adhered together in the scale, but as @JimDawson pointed out, they can be forced to moving. I don't think they move under operation (air gap between reader and encoder), but I haven't verified that they don't move. I'm having second thoughts, so I will have to come up with some sort of test to see what I get. The problem is that once I get over 1", where I have gauge blocks good to .0001", I drop to .001" resolution up to 12" (using calipers or a depth gauge). That's a configuration that would be blind to step losses at 4um, the resolution of the scale. Hmmm. I suppose I have to define an acceptable cal range. Perhaps .001" in 4" would work for most real-world tasks.
 

Ken226

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
455
I'm using 1um glass scales and found it necessary to make an adjustment to the "Y" axis. The "X" axis was fine from the start. As mentioned earlier I have to recheck the accuracy against the blocks.


I went out and checked by touching off a 1-2-3 block with my edge finder. Across the 1" side, on the Y axis it was perfect. Showed 1.2000", with a .2 diameter edge finder tip.

Across the 3" side on the X axis It showed 3.1998". So, .0002" of error.

I did it several times with exactly the same results. That's with 5 micron scales.

I'll recheck occasionally, and consider myself fortunate.
 
Last edited:

ddickey

H-M Supporter - Gold Member
H-M Supporter Gold Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2016
Messages
2,957
Use a tenths indicator, much more accurate.
Here's a video that shows the way to test scales.
 

Ken226

Registered
Registered
Joined
Jan 6, 2017
Messages
455
Use a tenths indicator, much more accurate.
Here's a video that shows the way to test scales.

I went out and set up a a DTI this morning and rechecked.

Using that method, my X axis shows .0004" and Y shows .0002". I suppose I should actually go measure the actual length of the Shars 1-2-3 blocks before I assume anything about scale error.






Edited to add: both my 1-2-3 blocks mic'd @ 3.0002" long on the 3 inch side.
find the gas station closest to me
 
Last edited:
It can take up to an hour for ads to appear on the page. See our code implementation guide for more details. If you already have Auto ad code on your pages there's no need to replace it with this code
Top
AdBlock Detected

We get it, advertisements are annoying!

Sure, ad-blocking software does a great job at blocking ads, but it also blocks useful features of our website. For the best site experience please disable your AdBlocker.

I've Disabled AdBlock