From 3 phase to single phase with replacing motor

Juanca

Registered
Registered
Dear all,
I joined Hobby Machinist not too long ago. I am a retired mechanical engineer with a long trajectory in consulting engineering and construction for the oil and petrochemical industry.
Recently I purchased an EMCO Maximat V13 equipped with a 3 phase 3 HP brake motor.(Electromechanical brake) I have no 3 phase electricity available at home so I went through extensive research and engineering design to come to a solution on how to run the lathe with a single phase.
I want to offer my experience to whoever needs it.
Anyone can contact me and gladly I will do my best to help.

Attachments

• Lathe Diagram (As Built, Rev.1)-Model copy.pdf
    112.6 KB · Views: 48
  • Lathe Panel.jpg
    Lathe Panel.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 82
Welcome to HM, Juanca. When you can, show us some pics of your V13 and keep us updated on your progress. I, for one, am interested.

Hi Mikey. I did include a picture of the wiring diagram and the control panel as it is after the modification.
Would you like to see a particular view?

Nice job. Neat and tidy installation
cheers
Martin

Hi Mikey. I did include a picture of the wiring diagram and the control panel as it is after the modification.
Would you like to see a particular view?

I meant pics of your lathe! We like pics on HM - it's a rule, you know ... ;)