Grease For Spindle Bearings

Deerslayer

Registered
Registered
I have an old Leblond model 21 lathe that I just got recently, I haven't even installed a motor yet but in giving it a onc over and hitting the oil ports I noticed that the spindle bearings have grease zeros on them. I pulled the zerts and sure enough they are full of grease. Is that normal on these older machines or is it a retro hack?

I have no experience or knowledge with Leblonds, but sometimes grease Zerks (if indeed that's what you meant) are used for oil; as in the case with bridgeport mill table lubrication. Mine were packed with grease but not meant to be.

Matt, at Quality Machine Tools, recommended to me that I use Kluber spindle bearing grease on my PM25. I haven't sourced it yet, but that's the best recommendation that I've had.

Just plain old "wheel bearing grease" is all you need for these old lathes. The spindles do not spin fast enough to need the high dollar Kluber grease. It's made for high speed spindles where class 7 or 9 super precision bearings are used. Your bearings were probably Timken "0" precision bearings when new. My preference is Lubriplate grease or Mobile 28 grease. A EP-1 grease should be sufficient, too.

Just plain old "wheel bearing grease" is all you need for these old lathes. The spindles do not spin fast enough to need the high dollar Kluber grease. It's made for high speed spindles where class 7 or 9 super precision bearings are used. Your bearings were probably Timken "0" precision bearings when new. My preference is Lubriplate grease or Mobile 28 grease. A EP-1 grease should be sufficient, too.

Thank you for that!!
Any idea what I should limit spindle speed to on a older machine like this

image.jpeg