Hello All My First Post And New Machine

Laytonnz

Registered
Registered
Well im from new zealand and into motorcycles recently ive developed a thing for machines... so i brought a drill press that was in desperate need of a rebuild since i completed that i wanted another project so i brought this any info would be appreciated

Has an austin 7 gearbox to change speeds
20150816_120303_zpscj7f0ksr.jpg
402271936_zps05bjgcff.jpg

Its a john laing and sons lathe brought for $250
Machinery is very expensive here

Interesting power "transmission." I'll bet it even has reverse. It looks like a serviceable lathe, even has a Four Tool Post.

Laytonnz,

First, welcome to the site.
Sorry I have no info or experience with that make.

That a nice stick shift lathe! Is there a clutch or do you set the speed before turning on the motor?
It looks like a very solid and large-capacity machine. Congratulations.

Is that pulley under the spindle on the end of the bed used to drive the carriage lead-screw?
If so it's fine for turning, but you may consider changing that to a chain or gear-train drive to eliminate belt slips so you can guarantee spindle and carriage sync. That would make it useful for thread cutting. Of course you may need to find (or make) a set of gears to get the feeds you'd want.

I hope you get many years of service out of it!

-brino

As this is my first lathe ive ever used you wil,have to be paitent with the terminology of everything

Yup is does have a pully to drive the carrage screw i dont think it has a clutch i havnt had time to use it yet the gear box looks like its had a hard life need to weld up a crack in the case.
its in storeage untill we move house in the near future!

What's the large bar below the "carrage"? Used for